You can delete projects and their task groups and tasks if needed. Generally, it might not be best practice to delete records (such as projects) as they may be needed for reporting and analysis. Instead, you could consider archiving projects because archived projects are accessible for reporting and analysis. You can learn more in the Archive Projects article.
If you accidentally deleted a project and would like to recover it, see this article: How do I undelete a TaskRay Project or Task?
Keep in mind, you cannot delete projects that you are not the owner of (unless you are a system administrator) and in order to delete custom object records in Salesforce (such as TaskRay Projects), you must be the owner of those records. If you do not own the project, but need to delete it, you can reassign it to yourself and then delete it (note that some tasks might still be assigned to other people, which could prevent you from deleting the project). You can read more about project owners here.
Delete a Project
- In the left sidebar, hover over the project that you want to delete and click on the More Actions icon that appears.
- Select Delete Project.
- A confirmation dialog will ask you to confirm. Remember! Deleting the project will delete the project and all of the related task groups and tasks, as well as sub-projects.
- If you do not want to delete certain task groups or tasks, reassign them to other projects prior to deletion.
- If you do not want to delete certain sub-projects, remove them from the project hierarchy by clearing or changing the value in the Parent Project field in Project Details.
- Click Delete.
Alternatively, you can also delete a project by clicking on the Delete button in Project Details.